Springfield Township has a Council - Manager form of government. There are 5 elected Council members who serve a 4 year term. The Council selects one of the 5 to act as Mayor for a term of 1 year. A Deputy Mayor is selected, as well, to serve as Mayor when the Mayor is not present. The Manager is hired by and serves at the pleasure of the Council and manages the day to day affairs of the Municipal Government.